Born in Germany into a family of Bulgarian musicians, Vivi Vassileva began her musical studies on the violin with her father, but on hearing a group of folk artists on Karadere beach on the Black Sea coast she was immediately inspired to take up percussion. It was these colourful and exotic Balkan rhythms which moulded her into the multifaceted musician she has become and which continue to influence her classically- trained style. Admired for her innovative programming style, Vassileva offers new ways for audiences to become acquainted with her instruments and her craft, be it in story-telling with renowned Austrian author Michael Köhlmeier regaling tales of popular sports legends, or pioneering environmental projects with percussion instruments made from recycled materials. She makes regular performances alongside recital partners including Kian Soltani, Frank Dupree, Pablo Barragán and guitarist Lucas Campara Diniz as well her self established percussion ensemble „Extasi Ensemble“ including at the Berlin Philharmonie, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Snape Maltings, March Music Days in Ruse, Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg and the Salzburg Festival. Vassileva began her formal training at the age of ten with Claudio Estay and after winning First Prize at the national competition Jugend Musiziert in Germany she entered the National Youth Orchestra of Germany as youngest member. More successes followed including prizes at international marimba competitions in Paris 2009 and Nuremberg 2010, the Ingolstadt Music Cultivation Prize 2013 and two Special Prizes as the youngest semi-finalist at the prestigious ARDMusic Competition in 2014. 

It's the century of percussionists. Drums are the oldest instrumenst in the world and at the same time very, very new.

— Vivi Vassileva

At 16 she was accepted into the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich, where she completed her Bachelor of Music under Raymond Curfs and Peter Sadlo. She is currently studying part time at the Universität Mozarteum Salzburg under Martin Grubinger. She received the Kulturkreis Gasteig Musikpreis 2016 for her own composition and arrangement of the Bulgarian Folk Song 'Kalino Mome'. In 2017 she was awarded the Bayerische Kunstförderpreis. In 2019 Vassileva signed an exclusive record deal with Outhere Music France for their Alpha Classics label. Her debut album release “Singin’ Rhythm” features works by Guillo Espel, Eric Sammut, Oriol Cruixent and Keiko Abe, most of them premiere recordings, alongside some rarely heard or premiere arrangements and compositions by Vassileva herself. Selected for the Vienna Konzerthaus’ Great Talent scheme from 2019/20-2021/22 and as a Junge Wilde at the Dortmund Konzerthaus from 2021/22 to 2023/24, Vivi Vassileva is poised on the threshold of a major performing career and promises to be an artist that will take audiences with her as she explores and pushes the boundaries of the percussion world. Besides her brilliant technique, athleticism and astonishing virtuosity, she brings an exceptional musicality and poetic expression to her performances.

Awards
  • Bayerischer Kunstförderpreis in der Sparte Musik 2017
  • 1. Price Musikpreis des Kulturkreises Gasteig 2016
  • 2. Special price 63.ARD-Musikwettbewerb in München 2014
  1. U21-Special price von BR-Klassik
  2. Sonderpreis der Mozart-Gesellschaft München
  • 1.Price Musikförderungswettbewerb des Konzertvereines Ingolstadt 2013
  • 1.Price with ADAMS- Special price -Internationalen Marimba Competition „Marimba Festiva“ in Nürnberg
  • Bronze Medal international Marimba Competition „Marimba Mania“ in Paris, 2010
VIVI VASSILEVA HAS ALREADY PLAYED AS A SOLOIST WITH THE FOLLOWING ORCHESTRAS:

Gürzenich Orchester Köln, Wiener Symphoniker, Britten Sinfonia, Wiener Kammerorchester, Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal, Sinfonieorchester Hagen, Hofer Symphoniker, Nürnberger Symphoniker, Wiener Jeunesse Orchester, Bayerisches Landesjugendorchester, Neue Philharmonie München, Sofia Solisten, Baltic Neopolis Orchestra, Orchestra of Conservatorio Superior de Castellon, Philharmonie Südwestfalen, Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, Sinfonieorchester Liechtenstein

In Deutschland in eine bulgarische Musikerfamilie hineingeboren, begann Vivi Vassileva ihre Musikausbildung auf der Geige bei ihrem Vater, jedoch als sie am Strand von Karadere an der Schwarzmeerküste eine Gruppe von Volkskünstlern hörte, wurde sie sofort dazu inspiriert, Schlagzeug zu spielen. Es waren diese farbenfrohen und exotischen Balkan-Rhythmen, die sie zu der vielseitigen Musikerin gemacht haben, zu der sie geworden ist, und die ihren klassisch ausgebildeten Stil bis heute beeinflussen. Vassileva, die fur ihren innovativen Programmstil bewundert wird, bietet dem Publikum neue Möglichkeiten, ihre Instrumente und ihr Handwerk kennenzulernen, sei es in Form von Geschichtenerzählungen mit dem renommierten österreichischen Autor Michael Köhlmeier, der von popularen Sportlegenden erzählt, oder in Form von Pionierprojekten fur den Umweltschutz mit Schlaginstrumenten aus recycelten Materialien. Sie tritt regelmäßig mit Partnern wie Kian Soltani, Frank Dupree, Pablo Barragan und dem Gitarristen Lucas Campara Diniz sowie mit ihrem selbst gegründeten Schlagzeugensemble, dem „Extasi Ensemble“ auf, u.a. in der Berliner Philharmonie, beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, in Snape Maltings, bei den March Music Days in Ruse, in der Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg und bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Vassileva begann ihre formale Ausbildung im Alter von zehn Jahren bei Claudio Estay und nach dem Gewinn des ersten Preises beim Bundeswettbewerb Jugend Musiziert in Deutschland, wurde sie jüngstes Mitglied im Bundesjugendorchester. Weitere Erfolge folgten, darunter Preise bei internationalen Marimba-Wettbewerben in Paris 2009 und Nürnberg 2010, dem lngolstädter Musikförderungspreis 2013 und zwei Sonderpreise als jüngste Halbfinalistin beim renommierten ARD- Musikwettbewerb 2014. 

„Wir haben das Jahrhundert der Schlagzeuger. Schlagzeug ist das älteste Instrument der Welt und gleichzeitig im Moment sehr, sehr neu.“

— Vivi Vassileva

Mit 16 Jahren wurde sie an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munchen aufgenommen, wo sie ihren Bachelor of Music bei Raymond Curfs und Peter Sadlo absolvierte. Derzeit studiert sie berufsbegleitend an der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg bei Martin Grubinger. Sie erhielt den Kulturkreis Gasteig Musikpreis für ihre eigene Komposition und Bearbeitung des bulgarischen Volksliedes „Kalino Mome“. Im Jahr 2017 wurde sie mit dem Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis ausgezeichnet. 2019 unterzeichnete Vassileva einen exklusiven Plattenvertrag. Auf ihrem Debutalbum „Singin‘ Rhythm“ sind Werke von Guillo Espel, Eric Sammut, Oriol Cruixent und Keiko Abe zu hören, die meisten davon Ersteinspielungen, aber auch einige selten gehörte oder uraufgeführte Arrangements und Kompositionen von Vassileva selbst. Ausgewählt für das Programm „Great Talent“ des Wiener Konzerthauses von 2019/20 bis 2021/22 und als „Junge Wilde“ am Konzerthaus Dortmund von 2021/22 bis 2023/24, steht Vivi Vassileva an der Schwelle zu einer großen Karriere und verspricht eine Künstlerin zu werden, die das Publikum mitnimmt, wenn sie die Grenzen der Percussionwelt erkundet und verschiebt.Neben ihrer brillanten Technik, Athletik und erstaunlichen Virtuosität bringt sie eine außerordentliche Musikalität und einen poetischen Ausdruck in ihre Auftritte ein.

Preise
  • Bayerischer Kunstförderpreis in der Sparte Musik 2017
  • 1.Preis im Wettbewerb um den Musikpreis des Kulturkreises Gasteig 2016
  • 2 Sonderpreise im 63.ARD-Musikwettbewerb in München 2014
  1. U21-Sonderpreis von BR-Klassik
  2. Sonderpreis der Mozart-Gesellschaft München
  • 1.Preis im Musikförderungswettbewerb des Konzertvereines Ingolstadt 2013
  • 1.Preis mit ADAMS- Sonderpreis beim Internationalen Marimba Wettbewerb „Marimba Festiva“ in Nurnberg
  • 2010 Bronze Medaille internationaler Marimba Wettbewerb „Marimba Mania“ in Paris
Vivi Vassileva spielte als Solistin bereits mit folgenden Orchestern:

Gürzenich Orchester Köln, Wiener Symphoniker, Britten Sinfonia, Wiener Kammerorchester, Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal, Sinfonieorchester Hagen, National Polish Radio Orchestra, Hofer Symphoniker, Nürnberger Symphoniker, Wiener Jeunesse Orchester, Bayerisches Landesjugendorchester, Neue Philharmonie München, Sofia Solisten, Baltic Neopolis Orchestra, Orchestra of Conservatorio Superior de Castellon, Philharmonie Südwestfalen, Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, Sinfonieorchester Liechtenstein, Konstellation Plus Orchester,